8 ministers inducted in Sri Lanka in crisis, no finance minister yet

Sri Lanka is facing its worst economic crisis since its independence. (Case)


Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on Monday expanded the Cabinet with the installation of eight more ministers, but he did not appoint a finance minister to handle the economic affairs of the crisis-ridden country.

New Ministers who were sworn in include Douglas Devananda, Minister of Fisheries, Bandula Gunawardana, Minister of Transport and Highways, and Media, Keheliya Rambukwella, Minister of Health and Water Supply, Ramesh Pathirana, Minister of Industries , and Mahinda Amaraweera, Minister of Agriculture, Wildlife and Wildlife Conservation, tweeted news portal Economy Next.

The other ministers were Vidura Wickramanayaka, Minister of Buddhasasana, Religion and Culture, Naseer Ahamed, Minister of Environment, and Roshan Ranasinghe, Minister of Irrigation, Sports and Youth.

President Rajapaksa expanded his cabinet on Friday to include nine other ministers in a bid to ensure stability until a full cabinet is formed in the debt-ridden island nation engulfed in the worst economic crisis since independence.

The ministers were sworn in after a delay of more than a week since the president appointed new prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. Rajapaksa has reappointed former Sri Lankan prime minister Wickremesinghe five times after his predecessor, the president’s brother Mahinda Rajapaksa, resigned following violent attacks by his supporters on peaceful anti-government protesters.

His resignation automatically dissolved the Cabinet, leaving an administrative vacuum.

(Except for the title, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

About Deborah Wilson

Check Also

MTF Finance Partners with Institute of Directors for Future Directors Program

Friday, June 24, 2022, 6:19 a.m.Press release: MTF Funding Preparing leaders to stand for appointment …